a
M

Day of Scholars 2021

Drew University’s annual Day of Scholars event took place on Friday, April 16 from 3-5 p.m.

This virtual, interactive event featured Drew University students delivering research presentations, musical performances and poetry readings before answering viewer questions.

This year’s event included a combination of live and recorded presentations, as well as an online gallery of Senior Studio student work, a yearlong, advanced-level studio art course.

Live Event Schedule

3 p.m. | Welcome/Instructions

OPENING PRESENTATIONS

3:10 p.m. | Regina Sarquis and Nohemy Zabala, Building Bridges/Construyendo Puentes 

Contact: rsarquis@drew.edunzabala@drew.edu

3:20 p.m. | Karishma Patel, Modeling, Manipulating, and Measuring Neurexins in Caenorhabditis elegans\

Contact: kpatel8@drew.edu

3:30 p.m. | Cassandra Fontanez, Igloo”

Contact: cfontanez@drew.edu

PERFORMANCES

3:40 p.m. | Sydney QuinnSenior Creative Writing Portfolio |

Contact: squinn@drew.edu

3:50 p.m. | Jasmin Casiano, Loren Donnely, & Alyssa Sileo, My Role in Monstress

Contact: jcasiano@drew.eduldonnelly@drew.edu, asileo@drew.edu

SOCIAL SCIENCE & HUMANITIES RESEARCH

4 p.m. | Lisa Stites, California’s Wildfire Problem: The Neglected Role of Class and Housing

Contact: lstites@drew.edu

4:10 p.m. | Julia Kenner, “Boys masturbate, girls menstruate”: Reframing and Reforming Sex Education in America

Contact: jkenner@drew.edu

4:20 p.m. | Rebecca Schuman, The Case for Linking Causes: Why Animal Rights are an Environmental Issue

Contact: rschuman@drew.edu

SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH

4:30 p.m. | Arman Sawhney, Investigating Intrinsic Immune Functions of IFI16 and IFIX

Contact: asawhney@drew.edu

4:40 p.m. | Kelly Maegerlein, Investigating the neuroprotection of RD100, a potential group III mGluR positive modulator, in a primary rat cortical FAB/NMDA model of Alzheimer’s disease

Contact: kmaegerlein1@drew.edu

4:50 p.m. | Daniel Kellaway, Divisibility, Discrete Logarithms, and Cyclotomic Polynomials

Contact: dkellaway@drew.edu

5 p.m. | Thank You & Closing


PERFORMANCES (pre-recorded)

Jack Andrus, “Mellow Flame”

Contact: jandrus@drew.edu

Micah Rivas, Mediations of a Dominicana

Contact: mrivas1@drew.edu

Riya Soyantar, On Cauliflowers and Other Matters of Importance

Contact: rsoyantar@drew.edu

SOCIAL SCIENCE & HUMANITIES RESEARCH (pre-recorded)

Brett Cheadle, Analyzing Community-based and Centralized Approaches to Natural Disaster Management

Contact: bcheadle@drew.edu

Erin Feith, Nursing the Hangover: The Response of the Methodist Church to the Repeal of the Eighteenth Amendment (1934-1950) 

Contact: efeith@drew.edu

Emma MacAfee and Diana Karamourtopoulos, Drew Student Voter Project

Contact: emacafee@drew.edudkaramourtopoul@drew.edu

Annalisa Manabat, 1960-1981: Horror Films and The Women’s Liberation Movement

Contact: amanabat@drew.edu

Ryan Strauss, The Anglo-American Special Relationship: Antiquity or Destiny?

Contact: rstrauss@drew.edu

SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH (pre-recorded)

Gabriel Dutra, Auto-generated study guides: Correlating similar topics in different subjects

Contact: gdutra@drew.edu

Sydney Everhart, Exploring Indole-Mediated Persister Bacteria Formation

Contact: severhart@drew.edu

Katelynn Fleming, Searching for New Physics with the Biggest Particle Accelerator in the World: the Large Hadron Collider at CERN

Contact: kfleming2@drew.edu

Hannah Primiano, Phytoplankton Patterns at the Subantarctic Front in the Southern Indian and Pacific Oceans

Contact: hprimiano@drew.edu

Elena St. Amour, Analysis of the Safety of Seaplanes and Amphibious Aircraft

Contact: estamour@drew.edu

Robert Sutter, Role of chromatin structure in immune sensing of DNA

Contact: rsutter@drew.edu


Check out the recap of the 2020 virtual Day of Scholars event.

Related Posts

Writers@Drew Welcomes Former Drew Professor Tiphanie Yanique

Hosted by Drew’s Africana Studies and Creative Writing programs

READ MORE

Drew University Mourns the Loss of Father Gabriel Coless

Beloved adjunct professor for 47 years

READ MORE

Drew Theological School Alum Amy Davis Abdallah T’10 Publishes Book

Shares practices and insight with the Drew community

READ MORE