Pi Epsilon Pi (Honor Society).


Pi Epsilon Pi (Honor Society)

Pi Epsilon Pi (PEP) is a national honor society for undergraduate students in writing and writing studies. PEP was founded by the Loyola University Maryland Writing Department in 2006. DePaul University began the organization’s second chapter in 2008 and a decade later in 2018 Drew University was accepted as a member. Intended for undergraduate majors and minors in writing, PEP is distinct from Lambda Pi Eta (the undergraduate honor society of the National Communication Association) and Sigma Tau Delta (for English majors).

About the Society

Pi Epsilon Pi is an honor and professional society for students pursuing degrees in creative writing, professional writing, and writing studies. Chapters also include alumni, faculty, staff, and others who practice and support writing in any of its subfields. These professional members do not participate in regular activities of the chapter, but commit to providing professional and creative support and mentorship for student members and for each other.

Together, the members of this honor society and the organization support activities that

  • stimulate creative and scholarly work in writing studies
  • cultivate the appreciation of the art and craft of writing
  • expand recognition of the critical role of literate activity in contemporary society.

The society’s name is taken from the motto petens eloquentiam perfectam, which reflects the society’s ideal of seeking eloquence in written expression. Membership honors the work of inductees toward accomplishing this ideal.

Membership Information

Students are invited to join Drew’s Delta Upsilon chapter of Pi Epsilon Pi in the Spring of each school year. An induction ceremony is held in early May. Drew’s Pi Epsilon Pi chapter is open to English Majors and Minors focusing on writing studies or creative writing. The English department considers the following criteria when inviting students to join the honors society:

  • overall GPA
  • GPA within the Major/Minor
  • Number of writing courses completed within the Major/Minor

Upon accepting their invitation to join the chapter, students pay a one-time fee of $35. This fee provides you:

  • lifetime membership in Pi Epsilon Pi and the campus chapter, Delta Upsilon
  • a membership certificate and lapel pin
  • the privilege of listing Pi Epsilon Pi on your resume
  • an honor cord to wear with your graduation robe
  • your name listed in the graduation booklet as a member of the honor society


2018-2019 (Founding members) 2019-2020 2020-2021
Zarina Akbary
Sofia Amorim
Emily Deuchar
Andrew Dugan
Heather Dupont
Max Felsenstein
Madyson Griswold
Anna Gombert
Lindsey Heale
Savannah Hill
Holly Hoyt
Matt Ludak
Miranda Meade
Katie Riso
Brianna Siciliano
Caitlin Shannon
Krystal Starrett
Leanza Rodriguez
Sarah Tully
Haley Watson
Loren Kleinman (Professional inductee)
Jens Lloyd (Faculty inductee)
Amaliya Agambila
Audrey Borba
Georgia Brooker
Dana Buquicchio
Meghan Fonseca-Colon
Anthony Garcia
Julian Hamilton
Virginia Hand
Ellen Handerhan
Matthew Macaulay
Miranda Meade
Stefany Merkelbach
Aleksandra Procek
Jamie Riffel
Jessica Rodgers
Gabriela Scoppio
Rebecca Sharman
Bianelly Tellez