Awards & Scholarships.


Awards & Scholarships

Bessie Stak Schiffman Award for Excellence in Women’s Studies

The Bessie Stak Schiffman Award is given annually to a graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in both academic work in women’s studies and in campus or community activism.  This award was created through the generosity of Prof. Ann Saltzman, Dept. of Psychology, the 1994 recipient of the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching.  The award is named in memory of Ann’s grandmother who, as a young woman, learned Hebrew and became the “prayer reader” for the women of her small synagogue, enabling them to participate in activities otherwise restricted to men.  Her story embodies the ways in which women’s knowledge can transform community. The first Schiffman was awarded in May of 1995.

Schiffman Award Recipients

2020 Kassel Franco Garibay (Women's and Gender Studies, International Relations)
2019 Aurie Flores (Women’s and Gender Studies, Spanish)
2018 Alexa Young (Women’s and Gender Studies, English)
2017 Hannah Kohn (Women’s and Gender Studies), Marianna D’Aries (Women’s and Gender Studies) & Keiran Wilson (Women’s and Gender Studies, Psychology)
2016   Michael Collina (English, Women’s and Gender Studies)
2015   Bonnie Hullings (Women’s and Gender Studies)
2014   Rachel Schacter  (Music, Women’s and Gender Studies Minor)
2013   Meghan Wolfe (women’s and Gender Studies)
2012   Kestin Gussoff (Women’s and Gender Studies)
2011   Marissa Portuesi (Women’s and Gender Studies, Political Science)
2010   Jill Swirsky (Women’s and Gender Studies, Psychology)
2009   Victoria Webbe (Women’s Studies, Political Science)
2008   Stacy Johnson (Anthropology, Women’s Studies)
2007   Victoria Sollecito (Women’s Studies)
2006   Kim Buonarota (Political Science, Women’s Studies)
2005   No award given
2004   Kristen Ackley (Psychology, Women’s Studies)
2003   Jessie Gamble (Women’s Studies)
2002   Marissa Hildebrandt (Women’s Studies) & Jenn Russell (Music)
2001   Sue Brennan (Women’s Studies) & Chelsea Hoffman (Theatre)
2000   Emily Musil (American Studies)
1999   Lori Babcock (Behavioral Science)
1998   Carolin Collins (Anthropology)
1997   Alison Kinney (English, Women’s Studies)
1996   Bridget Guarasci (African American, Women’s Studies)
1995   Kearsten Davis (Psychology) & Chakshu Patel (Women’s Studies)

Raval Prize in Women’s Studies and the Humanities

Established by her family and friends in memory of Shilpa Raval (1969-2004), the prize is awarded annually to a junior or senior whose interdisciplinary work, like Shilpa’s lively and innovative scholarship on gender and sexuality in the ancient world, connects women’s studies with study in an area of the humanities, languages or literature. As an undergraduate at Drew, Shilpa studied English, classics and women’s studies, receiving her B.A. in 1991. She subsequently received a Ph.D. in classics from Brown University and was an assistant professor of Classics at Yale, where she also directed the Yale Women Faculty Forum.

Raval Lecturers

2018 Emilie Amt, Hood College
2017 Meredith Safran, Trinity College, Hartford
2016   Sharon James, University of North Carolina
2014   Raffaela Cribiore, NYU
2013   David Konstan, Brown University
2012   Yopie Prins, University of Michigan
2011   Kristina Milnor, Barnard College
2010   Helene Peet Foley, Barnard College
2009   Richard Billows (Classics), Columbia University
2008   Sara Lindheim, UC Santa Barbara
2007   Ruth Caston, University of Michigan
2006   Vassiliki Panoussi, College of William and Mary

Raval Prize Recipients

2020 Ava Gustafson (Women's and Gender Studies, Anthropology)
2019 Haley Benson (Women's and Gender Studies, Theater Arts)
2018 Anna Gombert (English, Women’s and Gender Studies)
2017 Alexa Young (English, women’s and Gender Studies)
2016   Amanda Bryant (Women’s and Gender Studies)
2015   Sabine Reedy (English)
2014   Eve Sanoussi (English, Psychology)
2013   Victoria Hinojosa (English)
2012   Kimberly Ammiano (English)
2011   Nina Leone (Women’s and Gender Studies)
2010   Ellen Taraschi (Women’s and Gender Studies)
2009   Shaina Mirsky (English, Women’s Studies Minor)
2008   Alicia Rodgers (Religious Studies,Women’s Studies Minor)
2007   Stacy Johnson (Anthropology,Women’s Studies)
2006   Victoria Sollecito (Women’s Studies)
2005   Rachel Moore-Beitler (Women’s Studies)

Helen Charlotte Brown Scholarship

The Helen Charlotte Brown Scholarship was endowed in 2001 by Professor of Sociology Jonathan Reader in honor of his mother. The scholarship is awarded annually to a Women’s Studies student who has demonstrated promise for continued academic achievement.


2018-19 Samantha Hecker (Women’s and Gender Studies, Psychology)
2017-18 Samantha Hecker (Women’s and Gender Studies, Psychology)
2016-17 Keiran Wilson (Women’s and Gender Studies, Psychology)
2015-16 Keiran Wilson (Women’s and Gender Studies, Psychology)
2014-15 Keiran Wilson (Women’s and Gender Studies, Psychology)
2013-14 Samantha Wilkerson (English)
2012-13 Valerie Dohrer (Women’s and Gender Studies)
2011-12 Kestin Gussoff (Women’s and Gender Studies, History)
2010-11 Carlin MacNichol (Women’s and Gender Studies)
2009-10 Samantha Kenn (Women’s and Gender Studies, Political Science)
2008-09 Alexandra Steinheimer (Women’s Studies, Political Science)
2007-08 Stacy Johnson (Women’s Studies, Anthropology)
2006-07 Kim Buonarota (Women’s Studies, Political Science)
2005-06 Christine Ferro (Women’s Studies, Psychology)
2004-05 Patricia Hagdorn (Political Science)
2003-04 Jane Yamaykin (Russian Studies)