Drew Theological School Garners High Visibility at the AAR/SBL National Meeting

Faculty and students present internationally

Enlarge feature image

Dean Edwin David Aponte
Dean Edwin David Aponte

December 2023 – Drew Theological School is a prominent participant in the American Academy of Religion and Society of Biblical Literature Annual Meeting, and this year was no exception.

The annual event, held this year in San Antonio, Texas, is the world’s largest gathering of leading scholars in the field of religion and includes academic sessions, workshops, meetings and receptions with an estimated 10,000 attendees.

Drew faculty and students participated throughout the four-day event. Here are the highlights.

Drew Students Present Nationally

Over a dozen Drew PhD students presented at sessions throughout the conference, including:
Andrew Deeb
Carolina Glauster
Eun Sung Han
Esther Inuwa
Ha Young Kang
Jung Ae Kim
Tsz Him Lai
Tzu Yu Lin
Jennifer Maidrand
Hilary McKane
Jane Okang
Erin Parks
Beth Quick
Brian James Tipton
Amiel Wayne

Faculty Participation

Nearly 30 percent of the Theological School faculty presided and participated in over 20 academic sessions during the annual meeting, including:
Theological School Dean Edwin David Aponte
Professor of New Testament and Early Christianity Melanie Johnson-DeBaufre
George T. Cobb Professor of Constructive Theology Catherine Keller
Assistant Professor of Hebrew Bible Dong Sung Kim
Professor of Hebrew Bible Kenneth Ngwa
Assistant Professor of Religion and Society Elaine Nogueira-Godsey
Wallerstein Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies Eli Rosenblatt
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs Robert Paul Seesengood
Assistant Professor of New Testament Althea Spencer-Miller

Related Posts