Writers at Drew.


Writers at Drew

About Writers@Drew

Co-Sponsored by The Casement Fund and the English Department, the Writers@Drew reading series hosts a variety of published authors, who recite excerpts from their works for the Drew community throughout the academic year. The list of previous guest authors includes Junot Díaz, Mary Gaitskill, Colum McCann, and Jacqueline Woodson, as well as faculty and Drew alumni/ae Nicole Sealey, John Murillo, Sean Nevin, and William Giraldi.  At the end of the Spring semester, the Drew Student Writing Prize winners read their award winning poetry and prose for the Drew community.

Authors on Reproductive Freedom

Date/time: Thursday 29 September 2022, 4pm
Location: University Library – Kean Reading Room

Shelly Oria is the author of New York 1, Tel Aviv 0 (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2014) and the editor of Indelible in the Hippocampus, Writings from the MeToo Movement (McSweeney’s 2019), as well as the forthcoming I Know What’s Best for You: Stories on Reproductive Freedom (McSweeney’s 2022). Her fiction has appeared in The Paris Review and on Selected Shorts at Symphony Space, received a number of awards, and been translated to several languages.
Onnesha Roychoudhuri is a writer, storyteller, and educator. A former fellow at the Center for Fiction, her work has appeared in publications such as Rolling Stone, Kenyon Review, n+1, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Boston Review, McSweeney’s, The Rumpus, The Nation, The American Prospect, Salon, and Mother Jones. Onnesha has read and performed on stages for The Moth, Tedx, Lincoln Center, and more. She is the author of The Marginalized Majority: Claiming Our Power in a Post-Truth America, a Kirkus Best Book of the Year.
Kate Tarker is an American playwright who grew up in Germany. Her newest play, Montag, is premiering at Soho Rep in Fall 2022. Other plays include THUNDERBODIES (Soho Rep), Dionysus Was Such a Nice Man (The Wilma, FoolsFURY), and Laura and the Sea (Rivendell Theatre Ensemble). Kate is the recipient of a Jerome Fellowship, a MacDowell fellowship, The Vineyard’s Paula Vogel Playwriting Award, and Theater Masters’ Visionary Playwright Award, and she has been featured twice on the Kilroys List. She holds an MFA from Yale.

(Sponsored by the English Department, and generously funded by the Casement Fund).

Event flyer: W@D_Authors on reproductive freedom_Sept22

Cara Blue Adams

Date/time: Tuesday 18 October 2022, 4pm
Location: Mead Hall

Cara Blue Adams is the author of the short story collection You Never Get it Back (University of Iowa Press, 2021), named a New York Times Editors’ Choice and awarded the John Simmons Short Fiction Prize, judged by Brandon Taylor.

Past Events

Fall 2018 Events
September 27 : Writers@Drew presents: Tomás Morín, Mead Hall, Founders' Room, see Drew Story

October 10 : Merrill Maguire Skaggs Lecture presents: Colson Whitehead, Dorothy Young Concert Hall, see Drew Story

November 14 : Writers@Drew presents: Jennifer Egan, Dorothy Young Concert Hall, see Drew Story